new and a little discouraged

Options
Hi! My name is Stacie. I have been using myfitnesspal for 2 weeks now. I have been on other diet plans for most of my adult life either counting points or just portions and types of food. this is my first time counting calories and MFP on my phone is making it real easy to keep track of everything. I am using MFP in tandem with a nutritionist since I need to lose about 80 lbs.

The first 2 weeks I have no success. Been working out as prescribed by my fitness trainer from the weightloss clinic and I have been eating within my caloric limit. but I didn't lose any so far. Feeling a little discouraged, but I do have another idea to modify my diet even more with more veggies and perhaps eat smaller meals more often. Also, I have not been getting the protein as prescribed either.

My biggest challenges are planning and preparing meals and getting up every morning to workout. When I actually get to the gym, I am fine and have a great workout and a great day, but it is just getting to the gym is the hardest.

I look forward to utilizing the forum for the unbiased encouragement I need and to help others with the tips I have picked up along the way as well. Any advise on how to jumpstart this weightloss journey is greatly appreciated.

Replies

• vim_n_vigor
    vim_n_vigor Posts: 4,089 Member
    Options
    You are doing the right things and will get there. For me, the protein is a must or I don't lose the weight. Every body is different and you will need to play around to see what works for you.
  • FatBastard6135
    Options
    Stacie,

Welcome!!! ... Don't get discourged you could be trading any fat you have for muscle which weighs more. Sometimes the scale isn't the best judge, take measurements of your arms, legs, waist, etc. Use the results from both the scale and the measurements to see results.

Find a workout buddy local to you, having someone else going with you helps to get moving :smile: