can I take it easy once in a while??

Options
I was wondering what would happen if I didn't go all crazy on my treadmill. Like maybe walk, but slow, 2.5 mph. Normally I go maybe 3.5 mph (hey, I'm just starting out!) and I end up sweating, standing in front of the fan, heart beating out of my chest and out of breath...a "good work out" I'd say. But how bout if I just went s.l.o.w. once in a while.
Is this okay? I mean am I really burning calories if I don't sweat and make my heart rate go crazy?
It's just that sometimes I want to get a walk in, a slow walk, not a fast one at all, but I'm wondering if I am wasting my time.

Replies

• 2wheelit
    2wheelit Posts: 10
    Options
    The acronym F.I.T. = Frequency - Intensity - Time. Some days its good to slow down and go longer. Change one dynamic of the FIT and it changes your workout. You will still be burning calories. Take it easy somedays, keeps you from overtraining which is a fitness killer
  • Atlantique
    Atlantique Posts: 2,484 Member
    Options
    I don't mean to upset you with this answer, but believe it or not, you burn roughly the same amount of calories per mile whether you crawl, walk or run!

The big difference in the speeds has to do with your overall fitness. Walking slowly isn't going to increase it, but it still burns calories!

So sure, take an 'easy' day here and there and let your body recover.
  • philssis
    philssis Posts: 28
    Options
    If you'll do some research on muscle memory, I think your slow vs fast is good for that as well. Try getting off your treadmill and go outside. Walk as fast as you feel like, without a number dictating your pace. Feel good about it! Unless you have allergies, and then I'm sorry :(
  • meggonkgonk
    meggonkgonk Posts: 2,066 Member
    Options
    I don't mean to upset you with this answer, but believe it or not, you burn roughly the same amount of calories per mile whether you crawl, walk or run!