Cycling vs. spinning vs. trainer

Options
Hello, all. I've been riding my bike about 3-4 times a week now for the past 3 months or so, and I decided since the weather was kinda crappy here last night I'd take a spinning class at our gym. (Plus, I want to see what a spinning class is like in case I'd like to do that during in the winter) I thought, hey, this won't be so bad. I can ride up to 20 miles now easily and I've drastically improved my cardio endurance, so this should be a piece of cake. BOY, was I WRONG! :noway: I don't think I've ever sweat so much in my life and I really thought I could keep up with the ladies (and one guy) in the class. Wrong on that one, too!

My first question is, have any of you fellow cyclists discovered the same? That riding your bike is *much* easier than one of these classes, or am I just in worse shape than I think I am? I left not only soaking wet and worn out, but pretty defeated because I just simply could not do what all of the other people in the class were doing for as long as they were doing it, which was mainly standing and pedaling for extended periods of time. I mean as far as getting down and pedaling my heart out, I could definitely do that! It's just the standing and pedaling that killed my legs. My legs were shaking so bad, it was as if I was back to square one a few months ago, just starting out riding my bike.

I got a good workout which was my ultimate goal, but geez! I don't know what I expected I was getting in to, but it sure wasn't to get my butt kicked by a spinning bike!