college student.

Options
i'm in college and eat at the dining hall twice a day. i'm new to this and i don't know what to eat to be healthy and lose weight. we have a salad bar, a place for sandwiches, and then of course the homecooked meals. any ideas?

Replies

• roliepolienicolie
    Options
    i'm in college and eat at the dining hall twice a day. i'm new to this and i don't know what to eat to be healthy and lose weight. we have a salad bar, a place for sandwiches, and then of course the homecooked meals. any ideas?
  • Fit2btied
    Options
    Wow, that's tough! Since you don't give options, all I can say right now is to try to eat as much fruits and veggies as you can, along with a nutritious cereal and lean meats if available.The salad bar is great as long as you skip the dressings that are unhealthy. Do they have a vinegar available flavor the salad? A plain baked potato is also a good choice. It's a challenge to eat on campus and I wish you luck!
  • roliepolienicolie
    Options
    yes they do have vinegar avaliable. lately all i have been eating has been turkey sandwiches and salad...but i don't think that is the way to go.
  • Fab140
    Fab140 Posts: 1,976 Member
    Options
    So long as you eat whole grain/ whole wheat bread, you're getting more nutrition than white bread. Also, it depends on what's on the sandwhich. The cheese, the condiments.... Unless you make your own and you know exactly what is on it, I would steer clear! Salads, cereals, lean meats, LOTS of veggies and fruits.

Watch that alcohol too. Not only is it packed with empty calories, it raises the binges too. I know I go into crave everything mode when I have any alcohol. :laugh:

And then there's the sodas and the coffees. If you can plan out your day so you don't have to pull too many all nighters. Those lead to binges as well.

:flowerforyou:
    Best of luck!!
  • Fit2btied
    Options