Riding Horses

Options
does anybody else ride horses for your exercise? just wondering! kinda bored...lol

Replies

• TTops76
    TTops76 Posts: 116
    Options
    Up until the last year that is what I did for a living. Great exercise :)
  • peps0
    peps0 Posts: 1
    Options
    Yes. Have a weekend trail ride coming up in June. Haven't ridden yet due to all the rain but have walked; bathed and worked some with my horse.
  • fitcrew
    fitcrew Posts: 67 Member
    Options
    I trained horses for 15 years....best exercise ever.Love to take the horses on a 3 mile trail ride and post the entire thing.lol work them legs!! I have barrel raced my whole life so being strong is important....my physical therapist loves how strong I am :)

Yes riding horses for exercise rocks :)
  • ProudMomoftwo
    ProudMomoftwo Posts: 525
    Options
    Yes! We love to trailride and work those muscles.
    Grooming & ground work is also good exercise.
    I also walk with my kids while they ride so I can check the field for holes and brambles as well as coach them in their riding skills.
    It is an awesome workout.
  • royal_sevens
    Options
    i agree...awesome workout. it gets under my skin when people tell me that riding horses isn't exercise, but that's just because they have never done it! aha makes fro strong legs that's for sure!
  • littlemissanguissette
    littlemissanguissette Posts: 248 Member
    Options
    I am an endurance rider...and to those that like to say riding isn't a sport/exercising...I want them to get on my mare and do 50 miles in less than 12 hours and tell me when they get off [if they can even stand] it isn't exercising.

When I'm actively conditioning, I am toned and in amazing shape. My mare is laid up right now, so I haven't been conditioning for a few months and I can tell the difference.