Question about calories-can anyone help??

Options
I have a question-I am new to mfp. When I add in my foods it deducts from my 1200 calories a day-when i add in my exercise it gives me back calories to "eat". Today we went for 2 -two mile walks-would I really-after 7pm try to eat those 400 calories to be at the recommended 1200 calories a day? Now it is telling me I still have over 600 calories to eat !! Help!! Thanks so much for any advice!!

Replies

• babygurl48
    babygurl48 Posts: 1,236 Member
    Options
    you don't have to eat your calories back. i only eat them sometimes and even then, not all of them.
  • wannalosew8
    wannalosew8 Posts: 21
    Options
    In general, I would suggest you eat your exercise calories but it is really up to you. When you exercise, you burn calories and MFP adds them back in to ensure you eat enough calories to meet the weight loss parameters it has set for you. It is up to you really. In other programs I have done, you could save you exercise calories and have a splurge later in the week.
  • MrsZMartin
    MrsZMartin Posts: 165 Member
    Options
    This is a much talked, and debated, about issue here on MFP. Search the forums for the full range of responses.

Here is a basic explanation: you need to focus on the NET calories you are consuming. Your body needs at least 1200 NET CALORIES to run through normal daily activities. You don't have to eat back all of your exercise calories all the time; you don't even have to look at them that closely, b/c unless you're using a good heart rate monitor, there is no way for a site, or piece of workout equipment, or any other calculator using solely your age and/or weight, to accurately measure how many calories you burn for a given exercise. Focus on the net, and keep logging! Good luck!
  • rileysowner
    rileysowner Posts: 8,218 Member
    Options