Running Question

Options
kerri76
kerri76 Posts: 45 Member
Is it ok to run everyday? Or 6 days a week? I am new to running but can run 3 miles without dying and have been running approx 3 miles everyday but someone told me it is bad to run everyday. Any opinions?

Replies

• rybo
    rybo Posts: 5,424 Member
    Options
    It really depends.
    Some people do fine running every day or almost everyday. Others need more days of rest.
    Listen to your body & if it tells you it needs a break, take one.
    If you are just doing easy 3 miles, you could probably get away with running nearly every day, but like I said, listen to your body.

Many people will tell you that just running at all is bad, so of course running everyday would be worse. But some people run daily without any issues.
  • afyfe1999
    afyfe1999 Posts: 16
    Options
    My doc doesn't like me running daily, for fear of overuse injuries. So, when I am actually running, I only run 3-4 times a week and do cross training the other days I want to work out.
  • ShaeDetermined
    ShaeDetermined Posts: 1,525 Member
    Options
    listen to your body.
    if you're not feeling any pain i don't think there's anything inherently wrong with running every day. (i can, and i have....but....)
    the better question is, what are you hoping to gain by it?
    if your goal is weight loss, be very careful with doing the same thing everyday, our bodies love to settle into a rut.
    so if weight loss is your goal i would run 3-4 days a week, and on those days mix it up, do one run to improve distance, and 2 runs to improve speed (interval training is the best tactic for that). Then on your "off" days add in strength training. (strengthening your core will also improve your running)

good luck!

edit: one more thing: if you do decide to run everyday, make sure you take into account your total weekly mileage, and do not increase it by more than 10% each week.

good luck again! :wink:
  • rachel5576