Hyopthyroid and hari loss???

Options
Dose anyone on here that has Hypothyriodism also have hair loss? I started noticing that my hair was coming out at an alarming rate and went to the dr. She tasted for many things and that is when I found out about my thyroid. That was about 4 years ago. Ive had my medicine ajusted several times (Synthroid). I still have days when my hair seems like it comes out like crazy. This really bothers me. Ive gone to see the dermotoligst and he gave me a script, but I have seen a difference yet. I got my thyroid rechecked like a week ago and the dr said it was low, then said we should lower my dose....what? its low and she wants to lower my dose...Maybe it was a typo in the letter she wrote. Gonna call on Monday and see whats going on......

Replies

• vickuli
    vickuli Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    Yes I am also and it is still falling out like crazy, but I am also a stylist and it is normal to loose hair every day, it is supposed to be replaced...
  • FabulousFifty
    FabulousFifty Posts: 1,575 Member
    Options
    My daughter has thyroid issues...and hubby! I know, it seems opposite when they adjust the synthroid. It was hard for me to get my brain around. My daughter is on a very high dose of synthroid as she no longer has one. They removed it after they could not get her regulated. Regular blood tests and a good doctor are essential. Make sure you are eating enough protein as well.

All the best!:flowerforyou:
  • sarah307
    sarah307 Posts: 1,363 Member
    Options
    yes yes yes...

if i start to have severe hair loss - then i know it's time to call my doctor and increase my dosage of medication
  • BarnDogBob
    BarnDogBob Posts: 104 Member
    Options
    For Hypothyroid - TSH level too high
    For Hyperthyroid - TSH level too low

This might be what your doc was talking about.
  • theresabell67
    theresabell67 Posts: 97 Member
    Options