I just want to eat!

Options
I am such an emotional eater. I hate it. When I'm stressed, sad, angry, and worst of all, BORED, I want to just eat. I have done really well over the last week. I have been busy outside with my son or working (I'm a respiratory therapist and work 12 hour shifts). Today is going to be way too hot to have the baby outside, so we are stuck inside playing and reading. I'm fine with that, but when nap time comes for him, I literally have to stop myself from grabbing any and every thing in sight. I have been trying to find distractions to keep me from wandering into the kitchen. I love to read and will start a book as soon as I log off of the computer, but I can't guarantee that I won't end up having to fight with myself over eating or not eating.

It gets old fighting with myself. I know that I'm not hungry. I know I don't really want the food. Yet, I will still go and browse through the refrigerator or cabinets. Most everything we have is healthy, but that doesn't mean that I can eat what I see. Ugh!

Old habits are hard to break, right? I'm doing my best to stay strong.

Replies

• abbyholm
    abbyholm Posts: 12
    Options
    I'm exactly the same way. I go to watch tv and my brain seems to automatically think that I absolutely must have food with it. I took up knitting which helps alot, it occupies my hands (which I think is the need eating was filling) while I do something sedentary like watching tv and helps prevent me from eating. It's not a perfect method though, I've still found myself bingeing on popcorn or gingersnaps, thinking in my head about how this or that I did must've burned SOME calories so it's really not THAT bad. It's like I can't be honest with myself and exercise the self-control. I'm getting there and doing better with the knitting and drinking tea or water instead of snacking, but you're exactly right, old habits are hard to break.
  • Rklane
    Rklane Posts: 42 Member
    Options