Need help really bad.

Options
I am a ER nurse that works night shift usually 7p-7a 4 days a week and surprisingly I do really good on the days I work. I count my calories out and get up before work and do at least an hour on the treadmill but on the days I don't have work (and that is usually the weekends and my husband is off too) I really can't seem to keep it together. I don't feel like getting on the treadmill or watching what I eat. I feel really good about how I am doing on my work days and feel like I am making progress but feel like I undo everything on the weekends that I have worked so hard for. My husband says it is because I am so tired from work and not sleeping much during the week. I am just lost and need some help. I really need to get some weight off before we go to the beach. Any suggestions on how to keep motivated on my off days? I pass up so much food while I am working and don't understand while I can't put it down at home.

Replies

• WWhitaker
    WWhitaker Posts: 309
    Options
    I wish I had an easy answer for you, but I'm the exact same way. And I keep reading bulletins about others having the same issue. It's all about routine. If you can slowly get yourself into a weekend routine, eventually it will follow your work week routine. That's what I'm trying to work on myself. Keep your head up and just try, try, try!!!
  • CBKMom
    CBKMom Posts: 59 Member
    Options
    For me it is giving myself permission to relax. It is my days off so I should be able to kick back and relax. This thinking has gotten the best of me for some time. Once I decided that I was way better off planning my meals ahead of time and doing some prep work on them as well, then I was way more successful in my eating habits.

- Decide that you are not too tired to be chasing your goals.
    -Make time for you! That means eating right to get where you want to be.
    -Make food less of a priority and your life your focus.