Off subject...but need advice!

Options
2»

Replies

• Newman4AU
    Options
    I have a degree in HR, and while I am a production manager I also do a lot of interviews for both internal and external hiring ( I am also an on-campus recruiter for a local university). I have done literally hundreds of interviews, and the color of someones shirt has yet to matter. What matters most is a proven track record of accomplishment where you have worked, and are you trainable to our environment. We work swing shifts at our plant, so I routinely interview people coming off the third shift. If I am told by the person I am interviewing that I came to the interview straight from my other job - especially the third shift- it tells me two things. He/she is very interested in the job I am offering, and very loyal to where he works. I have interviewed people in suits, and people covered in grease, and I am more impressed with someone who can articulate their accomplishments and goals than someone who dresses well. Please tell your husband to relax, be himself ( not what he thinks they want) and think before he answers questions. Too often people rush to answer questions without thinking things through. It is okay ( and refreshing) to have someone say " can you explain that question" or " can I have a moment to formulate my answer". I would also tell your husband to have some questions thought out ahead of time for the person doing the interview ( not how much money will I make) but questions about the process, what a typical day of work would be like, how can an individual contribute to the company's success, etc. Most important is to relax, be yourself, and be ready to honestly (without bragging) list how you contribute to your current job. I am anxious to hear how the interview goes, and good luck!
  • jnb0203
    jnb0203 Posts: 59 Member
    Options
    Thank you everyone for the advice!