trouble with the elliptical

Options
Hi. I'm pretty new to working out, but I have been doing at least 30 minutes on the treadmill daily, at a good pace, and yesterday I started c25k. I sometimes use the stationary bike, and I have tried the elliptical. I CANNOT do it--- it hurts me after like 30 seconds. What is wrong with me? Tips, hints, tricks?

Thanks

Replies

• VBtim180
    VBtim180 Posts: 43 Member
    Options
    elliptical used to hurt my feet. after 10 minutes I would have to stop. I started getting more and more used to it. Now I do 30 mins.
    When you get off of it that first step can be weird.
  • lisa0913
    lisa0913 Posts: 22
    Options
    just keep working at it. i too experienced the same thing. you have to build up endurance. don't give up. :)
  • Terri_39
    Terri_39 Posts: 122
    Options
    LOL...I know how you feel! I started out doing the elliptical in three to five minute intervals. I would do about 3 to 5 minutes a day for a couple of weeks then each week I'd increase it by 5 minutes. Just start out slow and you'll get there. I'm now up to 25-28 minutes. You burn way more on an elliptical then you do on a treadmill or even a stationary bike so that's why it's a bit harder. Hang in there, you'll get it.:flowerforyou:
  • maureendonahue
    maureendonahue Posts: 468 Member
    Options
    I struggle with that darn machine too! So I start at 1 min. and each week I have added a minute. It's still really hard, but there is improvement! Then I go to the treadmill and/or the bike.
  • jamielise2
    jamielise2 Posts: 432 Member
    Options