Physical Education- Tell me about YOUR experience!

Options
Hi all!

I'm going to be teaching my first year of elementary PE and I am just beginning to create my curriculum. I am very interested in hearing your experiences about your time in PE class! What did you like about PE? What didn't you like? What do you think needs to be changed in terms of how PE is taught?

I'm really focusing on teaching lifelong fitness habits rather than just sports. I think its time for our kiddos to learn how to be physically active for life by teaching them about the things we are all doing now in our 20s, 30s, 40s and beyond. I especially would like to target working with the students who are not superstar athletes, the ones who hate PE and the ones who have yet to find physical activity as enjoyable.

So tell me! If you were in charge, what would YOU do??

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• mallorybriann
    mallorybriann Posts: 1,380 Member
    Options
    Picking teams was always sad :(
    No one wants to be picked last!

I loved the team sports (kickball, field day etc).

HATED those tests we had to do :( I could never do a pull up or sit and reach far enough :(
  • ronda_gettinghealthy
    ronda_gettinghealthy Posts: 777 Member
    Options
    PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE dont ever "choose" up sides-- I was often the last to get picked--hated hated hated PE. Hated the ugly gym suits- the stupid calisthenics and the nasty community shower.

WOW can you tell PE traumatized me????

Good Luck in your endeavors to make Phys Ed as we called it- a pleasant enjoyable experience for all.
  • iamkelskels
    Options
    my favorite part about the ONE semester of high school pys ed that the school required (not nearly enough) was the teacher bringing in several different kinds of fitness instructers to teach us for the day. we did pilates, yoga, kick boxing, zumba, cardio dance.. all sorts of different fun workout classes. it probably wouldn't be too hard to adjust this elementry age kids.