I am having trouble getting started

Options
:ohwell: This is my first time that I have ever started to get serious about my personal well being. I have never been tragically upset about my physical appearance. To be honest I have good self esteem. BUT I have awful self motivation. I don't know how to motivate myself everyday to change my personal habits to better my health. Does anyone have any good tips to keep my self motivation up on a day to day basis?

Replies

• caeliumspecto
    caeliumspecto Posts: 42 Member
    Options
    I always find that planning ahead or setting small goals for myself makes things easier. If I don't know what I should be doing ahead of time, I tend to get side tracked.

I'm pretty new to this too, but at least for the past few weeks setting goals has been working. Maybe start with something small like adding 1 leafy/green vegetable to your meals every day? Or 15 minutes of exercise?

Or, if you want, since I *am* new to this whole "motivation" business, maybe we could help each other. I dunno, like keep track of each other's eating/exercise and make comments.
  • Blackthorne99
    Blackthorne99 Posts: 250 Member
    Options
    Put more energy into the question. Why do you want to better your health? Why bother? What good does it do you? What do you want out of it? What do you REALLY want? "Health" is so ambiguous than when faced with "chocolate" or "television", the immediate pleasure is much more well-defined and emotionally charged. People say "I ***LOVE*** chocolate!!!!!!!!", but they don't express what health will bring them that can possibly compete with that.

What lights you up? What drives you? What fires you up? What keeps you moving through life and makes you forget time?"