I; lost 125 lbs but still learning... an ah hah moment!

Options
I've lost 125 lbs. and I'm still learning!!! I need to increase my calories!! (I think) I lost a lot of weight by changing my lifestyle. Due to a diabetes diagnosis, I changed my eating habits and have kicked the 4x insulin intake daily. But I lost most of my weight without exercise. Since Jan, I've been going to the gym and am feeling stronger and building endurance everyday. But in 6 months, my weight is still the same though my body structure is improved. LIGHTBULB GOING OFF!! I have kept my caloric intake at the same 1200 per day while doing a top notch 30 minute stepper or eliptical workout burning 400+ calories daily. I'm not losing any more weight because my NET calories are too low, RIGHT? I've researched and researched and I think that is my reason. Any thoughts? I am 5'7", 227 lbs.

Replies

• erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    Your net should not be below 1200 or so calories/day, maybe even higher, as 1200 is a generic minimum.
  • SunshineRowe
    Options
    maybe or maybe you need to increase your goals and make them harder
    make the diet more specific
    you are in a whole new level now
    I keep my cals around 1200 -1500 and do not eat back my cals and I lose all the time and never plateau
  • cedarhurst2006
    cedarhurst2006 Posts: 378 Member
    Options
    Right? I've been having too little calories thus landing myself in the ever dreaded "starvation mode". I'm trying today to bump up my calories. I keep a food/exercise journal so I just will deduct the calories burned from calories consumed and keep on eating till I hit 1200. Thanks for the input!
  • Larius
    Larius Posts: 507 Member
    Options
    Based on the information given, I agree.
  • emsibun
    emsibun Posts: 208
    Options
    A very wise person here showed me this:

http://fitnesswithnatalie.blogspot.com/2011/05/most-dreaded-word-in-weight-loss.html