Any grad students out there?

Options
2»

Replies

• fitplease
    fitplease Posts: 647 Member
    Options
    When I stopped walking around campus and started sitting in the library doing my thesis, exercise was not on my mind.

Definitely look into the campus gym, etc. Exercise makes a huge difference with stress. And, you can use the time to mull over your research a bit, or plan your writing. (If you walk 1 mi. on the track, for example, it's only about 12 minutes.) If you are writing from home, you can walk or jog around the block for a few minutes also, and just do it when you would normally take a break.
  • hbunting86
    hbunting86 Posts: 952 Member
    Options
    Hey - I've just started my PhD in human health and nutrition and psychology :)

I've recently joined the university gym and am going to my first class tonight (Zumba which I guess I will suck at). I did my BSc and MSc in the UK and still carry the evidence of student lifestyle around my stomach!
  • Cadenpet
    Cadenpet Posts: 79
    Options
    Hey. About to start my first year of pharmacy school, in oh 9 days. :)
  • Victorian131
    Options
    I'm in the final stretch of my MSc program as well as working part time, and I'm definitely finding a hard time balancing between time spent working on my thesis and time spent working out. When I'm active, I feel guilty for not writing, and when I'm writing, I feel guilty for not exercising.

You have summed up my life! I have one month til deadline (well, September 19th) and still have 15000 words left of my thesis (I'm half way there thank god) I have no access to a gym but live way way out in the countryside so have been doing c25k when the weather isn't too horrendous.
    I think stress is taking over now, I've got to the point where I'm dreaming about writing this paper and feel more bad if I don't write than if I don't exercise but feel bad about undoing my hard work, don't want to gain the stone I lost :( bad times.