Skin Issues!

Options
So, I recently - in the last week or so, switched up my food intake to include a lot more fruit and veg. I was eating almost none before and instead just cutting calories, but now I am having at least 5 portions a day but my skin has gotten so much worse! Spots and blemishes galore! As well as that, I get pounding headaches. I am eating about 900 calories a day (trying to increase the amount!! I have recently been diagnosed with EDNOS.) but I have been eating about that much for 6-7 months and never had these issues before! Does fruit = unclear skin?

Replies

• carriecarrot
    carriecarrot Posts: 70 Member
    Options
    It could be possible that you are consuming more sugar from an increased intake of fruit. I would limit fruit to eating 2-3 servings at most a day. If you are currently not eating more fruit than 2-3 servings, then you might be eating processed sugary foods AS WELL as fruit which could cause skin problems.

If neither scenario is true, then you visit your dermatologist.

EDIT: Other factors could also effect your skin. Have you been dealing with a lot of stress lately? Have you increased your exercise, and if so, are you taking showers after your workouts to avoid clogged pores? It also important to note that it is the middle of July, which is one of the hottest times of the year and the heat could make you break out.
  • red_hatorade
    red_hatorade Posts: 166
    Options
    Maybe the sugar in the fruit is causing the blemishes. That is my only guess. Headaches could very likely be caused by your low calorie intake. The one day you only ate 700, and have rarely seen you go over 900! You need more than that. I'd try to stay at least around 1200 calories a day.
  • plantgrrl
    plantgrrl Posts: 436 Member
    Options
    I don't think it's the fruit and veg. Acne is mostly hormone/allergy related.

Have you changed your skin regiment lately?