Cardio Only?

Options
2»

Replies

• jenniferg83
    jenniferg83 Posts: 278 Member
    Options
    I've been avoiding lifting and sticking to Cardio and so far I lost 8 lbs and keeping around a 1200 calorie diet. I understood that if I started lifting, I'd gain more weight in muscle that what I'd be losing. Does anyone know if this is true?
    [/quote

you can only gain 1/2 pound a month on avg if youre a woman and a poundish (might be off slightly), if you're a man. muscle takes a while to build. dont let that discourage ya
  • silkysly
    silkysly Posts: 701 Member
    Options
    I only have time to run right now & I'm doing ok..., I think. I'm always under my calories for the day anyway. I will get back to P90X when they add more hours to the day. :o)
  • Katie3784
    Katie3784 Posts: 543
    Options
    I checked out your exercise diary and saw that you do 50 minutes of cardio a day. Well, if you have an extra 10 minutes, I would highly, highly recommend doing 30 minutes of cardio and 30 minutes of strength training 4 times a week, and just cardio 2 times a week. I know you want to hear from people who are successful while only doing cardio, and while you can certainly lose weight with cardio, you will not gain tone or definition and will end up flabby. Plus, muscle burns so many calories, even at rest. Don't totally close your mind to starting strength training now. You will reach your fitness goals so much faster if you do.
  • Katie3784
    Katie3784 Posts: 543
    Options
    I've been avoiding lifting and sticking to Cardio and so far I lost 8 lbs and keeping around a 1200 calorie diet. I understood that if I started lifting, I'd gain more weight in muscle that what I'd be losing. Does anyone know if this is true?
    Not true at all. It takes a lot longer to gain muscle weight than it does to lose fat weight.
  • garlic7girl
    garlic7girl Posts: 2,236 Member
    Options