Weights and Upper Body...HELP

Options
When it comes to weights and upper body (well and lower body too :laugh: ), I'm at a loss. Which machines should I use? Should I use free weights? What are ANY of the names of these things? How many reps? What weight amount is a good starting point....

Help >.< I want to start dipping into more weight training this weekend but it seems I'm at a loss....Anyone care to share any ideas on what they do or would recommend?

Thank you in advance...

Replies

• ambermichon
    ambermichon Posts: 404 Member
    Options
    I have been lifting for 2 years now and sometimes I forget which exercises to do for what. I downloaded the jefit.com app the other day. It gives you pictures of the muscle groups and a list of exercises you can do for each....very helpful when you dont know what to do. The machines will generally tell you what to do as well. I would start light 3 sets of 12-15 and work your way up when it feels too easy.
  • oddyogi
    oddyogi Posts: 1,816 Member
    Options
    Hey, it's great that you're getting into strength training. I definitely recommend free weights. To learn about proper forms and what exercises to do, I would recommend perusing bodybuilding.com or buying a copy of The New Rules of LIfting for Women by Lou Schuler.

Good luck! You won't look back. :)
  • kdiamond
    kdiamond Posts: 3,329 Member
    Options
    Hey, it's great that you're getting into strength training. I definitely recommend free weights. To learn about proper forms and what exercises to do, I would recommend perusing bodybuilding.com or buying a copy of The New Rules of LIfting for Women by Lou Schuler.

Good luck! You won't look back. :)

Get the book!! Don't try to wing it, it is much better if you have a good program to follow!
  • dad106
    dad106 Posts: 4,868 Member
    Options