Runner's Trots

Options
So I know there have been lots of topics posted about this, I did a quick search. I just like to talk about poop. So, I'm training for a half marathon and on my last two runs I've gotten the worst urge to go about 6.5-7 miles in. Barely made it home last time and had to stop at the park's porta-potties this time, twice (yuck!) I'd really like to figure out if this is dietary and if there are any pharmacological remedies (I'm a pharmacist in training). The first time I blamed it on the ridiculously greasy breakfast I had that day. This time I'm less sure, I feel like I ate pretty well yesterday and today (minus the cupcake). Does anyone take Immodium before they go out on their long runs? What foods should I stay away from the day before and day of long runs?

Replies

• barbiex3
    barbiex3 Posts: 1,036 Member
    Options
    i have the same issueee. my bowels go around 9 miles hahaha. scarey stufff. I hear people poop themselves during marathons :P !
  • bunchesonothing
    bunchesonothing Posts: 1,015 Member
    Options
    There are a variety of possible answers and most people will probably give a viable answer. You just need to find which one works best for you.

Some things that come to mind:
    ~your dinner last night(grease or heavy foods)
    ~your breakfast or foods you've eaten beforehand (grease, heavy foods, and for me... dairy)
    ~the foods or lack thereof during
    ~electrolyte imbalance
    ~hydration issues
    ~Did you go to the bathroom before? It's usually a good idea.

Dairy kills me before a run. I only eat my dairy after I run for the day or I feel yuck.
  • Lollyvoddy
    Lollyvoddy Posts: 194 Member
    Options
    I usually run on an empty stomach, first thing in the morning and have no problem. The one time I got caught out was when I tried eating a protein bar a couple of hours prior to my long run. Never again. Be interested to see any feedback on this.
  • bunchesonothing
    Options