Importance of drinking water?

Options
I am really new to working out and eating healthy. I have never been great about drinking water. I've always mostly drank Crystal Light or Diet Soda (Bad! I know).

Can someone give me a quick run down and why it is so important to drink 8 glasses of water a day?

Replies

• SavCal71
    SavCal71 Posts: 350 Member
    Options
    I'm not going to quote you the science ... I'm sure someone else will. However, I believe -without a doubt - that lots of water helps my weightloss. I see it on the scale. If I go 2-3 days without enough water (for me, "enough" is 80 oz), loss is sluggish, if not non-existant. I also feel it in my body when I don't have enough. I am for a min of 80 oz a day and often surpass 100 oz.

This is *on top of* 3-5 diet sodas a day.
  • melbaby925
    Options
    Your body is mostly water. Think about how gross water gets when it's stagnant. And think about how beautiful a stream is when it's free flowing - where fresh water is moving through and keeping things clean.

if that doesn't get you drinking water - nothing will!
  • UrbanRunner81
    UrbanRunner81 Posts: 1,207 Member
    Options
    Your body needs it to function.

Our body is mostly made up of water.
    Protects Your Nervous System
    Cushions Joints
    Rids the Body of Waste
    Keeps skin from drying out
  • sknopps
    sknopps Posts: 166
    Options
    The kidneys cannot function properly without enough water. When they do not work to capacity, some of their load is dumped on the liver. One of the liver's primary functions is to metabolize stored fat into usable energy for the body. But if the liver has to do some of the kidney's work, it cannot work at full throttle.

As a result, it metabolizes less fat.
  • sexyminxinthemaking
    Options
    well reading those comments has inspired me to drink more water thanks guys
  • shesblossoming
    Options