Training for mini tri

Options
I want to do a mini tri, I have never done any marathons before so I am wondering how to start. I am strong at biking but am a fairly weak swimmer and runner.

Replies

• aquasw16
    aquasw16 Posts: 342 Member
    Options
    For running, train for a 5k. Do the "couch to 5k program" it's awesome and work. Swimming...you just need to google swimming plans for sprint triathlons. That will help you. Also, "beginnertriathlete" has a lot of information on putting together workouts that incorporate all 3 sports.
  • wbgolden
    wbgolden Posts: 2,071 Member
    Options
    I'm just starting to train for one (a sprint distance tri....not sure if that's what you mean by mini). I am a weak swimmer also. A friend of mine is going to teach me a proper stroke once I am ready. I've been running and cycling, but haven't successfully done both on the same day yet. Fortunately, the event I am training for is next August figuring I'll give myself plenty of training time and let the water warm up lol.

I've been looking at training plans on beginnertriathlete.com but haven't nailed down which course I am going to follow. Best of luck! For me, it's a pretty big step!
  • Athena413
    Athena413 Posts: 1,709 Member
    Options
    Check this out:

http://www.rufusracing.com/summer-roundup-training.html

This training plan will prepare you for a Sprint Triathlon - this particular one is 500m swim, 15.6 mile bike, and 5K run. This is the plan I will be using in April to train for Rufus Racing's Summer Roundup Tri next June.
  • jacksonpt
    jacksonpt Posts: 10,413 Member
    Options
    Is a mini tri the same as a sprint tri?

Focus on training for the swim... if you get in trouble (cramp, bonk, whatever) during the bike or run you can stop and walk it off. If you get in trouble during the swim, its a lot harder to ease up so you ca recover a bit.