Injected & Oral Steroids

Options
I have a severe allergic reaction to poison ivy/oak/sumac, and my doctor gave me a steroid shot tonight and prescribed two weeks of oral steroids. I am looking forward to relief from the itchy rash, but as nervous about weight gain. This is my first time on any form of steroid so I have no idea how my body will react. The doctor told me to expect some jitters, water retention, and weight gain. I plan to continue to my calories in vs calories out tracking, but am apprehensive. Anyone willing to share their experience? Did you gain weight? If so, how much? Did you notice a difference in your appetite? Thanks for sharing!

Replies

• withchaco
    withchaco Posts: 1,026 Member
    Options
    My mom was prescribed steroids and developed diabetes some time afterwards. Her pharmacist brother blames the steroids for killing her pancreas :(
  • AngelsheriHackley
    Options
    Do not take steroids unless you have to in 1998 I gain over 60 pounds and it's not easy to home off ask for an alternative medication.
  • lor007
    lor007 Posts: 884 Member
    Options
    When my daughter gets put on steroids she gains around 3-5 pounds (which is a lot, she is only 2) but it always goes away within a few days of being off of them.

I would rather be a bit puffy than be having a severe allergic reaction. I may be crazy, though.
  • boston6
    boston6 Posts: 158 Member
    Options
    Just came off of 2 weeks of oral steroids for a contact dermatitis. Lost weight each week. You won't have a problem with a 2 week steroid regimen. People who have problems with steroids are on them for extended periods of time.
  • pittsblue99
    pittsblue99 Posts: 277 Member
    Options