Help please! Eating on the hoof, let's hear your ideas!

Options
I hope this thread will help lots of us, not just me.

I'm a typical, busy person. I am a full time mature student, and I work two jobs. Today for example, I studied for 3 hours this morning, then will go to job no.1 between 11.30am and 6pm, then I'll work 7pm til 11pm in my second job - it will take about 40 minutes to commute between the two jobs. Granted I'm usually not doing this much running around, but I am usually pretty busy. Oh, and I have a sensitivity to wheat, so the usual bread, pasta etc types of food are out.

The day's eating started well with porridge and coffee... but what can I grab that won't break the bank calorie-wise, and will fill me up sufficiently to stop a raid on unhealthy things later on?

Now okay, work no. 1 will feed me if I want (but its a posh pub and last time I let them feed me soup thinking it was the healthy option I realised it had cream in it... everything else is pastry and fattening or wheaty stuff, so I'd prefer to take my own. But WHAT?

Last week was great in that I discovered individual pots of reduced fat houmus, and had that with carrot sticks and wheat free crackers. But what else can I have in the house, that is easy to grab and go, for those eating on the run moments?

Replies

• vixmonsta
    vixmonsta Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    i try nutri-grain bars for emergency eating and banana's.....
  • gipperakh
    gipperakh Posts: 102 Member
    Options
    Wholly guacamole makes 100 calorie packs now, get some reduced fat/light chips or veggies to go with it. String cheese, yogurts and some berries, laughing cow cheese wedges on some of those wheat free crackers...
  • babyblake11
    babyblake11 Posts: 1,107 Member
    Options
    you coud make a yummy chicken salad with avacado and olive oil and white wine vinegar, wholegrain mustard. put it into portions and pack with you. something like that :)
  • msowens
    msowens Posts: 15 Member
    Options