Women With PCOS

Options
Hello,

I've been diagnosed and living taking Hormonal Birth Control ever since i was 16. But I'm no longer trying to live my life strapped to a pill for normality. (I'm 24 and would eventually like the choice to build a family with my SO) Any women here with PCOS who've changed their diet and seen success in regular periods/continued weight loss or at least weight maintenance (i was severely overweight before HBC, so i know my PCOS is directly linked to my weight and having lost over 100lbs i def don't want to go backwards) If not i understand it was a shot in the dark, but research on google proves to just be a bunch of links to books to buy and i dont trust it no have the funds to spend on anything outside of traveling to work and groceries beyond rent/bills.

thanks either way! :D

Replies

• ranewell
    ranewell Posts: 621 Member
    Options
    i have pcos but I'm just getting started. i haven't had a chance yet to see if the weight change will correct my periods, I just went on the pill rather than progesterone in the event that it does correct itself I wanna lose more before I get pregnant. Would be interested to hear other women's issues with this :)
  • JewlToU2
    Options
    I've been treating my PCOS for almost 2-1/2 years now with metformin (500mg 4x a day) and have lost 95 pounds since. It has helped regulate me and has totally transformed my life. It's worth treating. You will feel soo much better. Especially your mood.
  • cramernh
    cramernh Posts: 3,335 Member
    Options
    PCOS
    Metabolic X Syndrome

Low carb is the way to go for PCOS... the high doses of insulin in our bodies makes losing weight so very difficult.. but.. I am noticing ALOT of things changing - and in the past three weeks, I have gone low-carb with my Endo's blessing and guidance...and Im losing weight!!!