Hey!

Options
Hey, all, thought I'd drop in and say "hi" to everyone, I'm new to these parts.

I'm 27 years old, and as of today, 256lbs.

For me this is actually encouraging to hear, since that means I"m down 69lbs from my starting weight last September.

September 2010 found me in a rut in many ways. I had completed my MBA, but was closing in on my 2nd year of unemployment. I weighed 325lbs...that's not gonna help get me an interview now, is it?

I decided to try my hand at weight loss for the first time in my life. I pretty much did a 180 on my eating habits. I didn't starve myself...in fact, one of my non-negotiables was that I was going to eat till I was full at each meal. I started eating lots of lean protiens, vegetables, cut out ALL fast food, cut my refined sugars in every way possible... Another non-negotiable was that I wasn't going to replace foods I love with foods I hate. For instance, I love hamburgers. I hate veggie-burgers. so I'd eat a Jenny-o lean turkey burger on a thin-bun as a replacement. I found I liked that nearly equally well. And so things continued.

The weight fell off dramatically the first month. When I felt I was starting to plateau already, I started walking...a mile at first, then more and more until I was easily doing 5 miles a day, not only for weight-loss purposes but for recreation...who'da thought I'd actually enjoy it?

by February 211, I was down to 248, a total of 77lbs lost in about 6 months. The average loss for me was 3lbs a week. that's on the high side, but it felt healthy, and i wasn't doing anything too dramatic, wasn't even really "counting calories" per se.