Chapped lips

Options
I've been noticing recently that my lips are really chapped, even to the point of cracking when I smile. I'm drinking all my water (and then some) so I can't be dehydrated. Could it be from drinking TOO MUCH water? Has anyone else noticed this?

Replies

• Tisha247
    Tisha247 Posts: 849 Member
    Options
    I'm not a doctor but dry chapped lips would be (in my opinion) from dry cold weather, or perhaps wind burn or sun burn. I don't think it has anything to do with what your eating that is unless your having an allergic reaction to something. Like I get a rash around my lips from eating mango's.
  • MissingMyOldSelf
    MissingMyOldSelf Posts: 689 Member
    Options
    It's possible! For example, if your lips are chapped, and you keep licking them, (adding what you think would be moisture), it only dries it out more. You need a different kind of moisture that only lip balms contain.

Sounds like some good ol' Chapstick is in your future! :)
  • YogiGirlLucy
    Options
    Never heard of chapped lips from too much water. Possible causes could be: weather, licking your lips or a reaction to cosmetics.
  • kyliecakes0405
    kyliecakes0405 Posts: 73 Member
    Options
    If you are drinking enough of water then it could be from the weather (sun exposure, dry air etc). I would use Vaseline or Aquaphor ointment and during the day any type of lip balm that has a sunscreen protection in it.
  • photo_kyla
    photo_kyla Posts: 322 Member
    Options
    It's weird because I haven't had any problems with chapped lips for years. I usually just wear gloss during the day and use a balm at night.
    I haven't used ChapStick since I read somewhere that they put in an additive to make you lips chap *more* so you'll buy more of their product (sneaky marketing...).
  • mrsjennifermaffei
    Options