Shoes for indoor exercising and climbing?

Options
Hey everyone! I'm thinking about starting to go to a few indoors exercise classes, but it's been years since I've been to one (pretty much since I stopped having PE at school...) so I'm not sure what shoes to wear. I'm into running and I have properly fitted running shoes, but I obviously can't use them (they're wellll grimy) so I was wondering if anyone has any insight to share on the topic. :)

Some of the classes I've been looking at are dance/aerobics type classes, and pilates. (Are you even supposed to wear shoes for pilates?)

And also climbing. I've never done it before (ever!) but there's a weekly beginner's session at the uni gym and I've wanted to try for years. But yeah, do you need any special equipment? (I realise they'll probably have the most necessary stuff so people can borrow it when they start out, but I like being prepared.)

Thanks for any help!

Replies

• adidrea
    adidrea Posts: 275 Member
    Options
    I'd get some cross trainers if you're doing a variety of different indoor exercises. There are special shoes that you can get for climbing if you're really into it, but if you're just starting out it's probably not necessary.

Good luck :flowerforyou:
  • akjmart2002
    akjmart2002 Posts: 263 Member
    Options
    As far as climbing is concerned, you will want to rent shoes for the first few times you go. If you find that you are pretty interested in climbing (and you should be, IMO!!), you'll need to buy a pair. Climbing without rock shoes (whether rentals or your own gear) is frustrating and unnecessarily difficult.