How do the exercise and net calories work?

Options
I'm suggested to eat by MFP 1,200 calories a day and my goal is to work out 4 times a week for 60 minutes. I am a PK/4K teacher so I also stay pretty busy during the day. What I am confused about is when I work out and "earn" calories back, am I supposed to consume them? I was under the impression that I shouldn't so I lose weight. For example, my goal is 1200, my food for today was 1292, my exercise was -420, so my net is 872. What exactly does that mean? Should I stay under 1200 calories of food consumption before exercise? Thank you for any help :)

Replies

• Elleinnz
    Elleinnz Posts: 1,661 Member
    Options
    Here you go - this explains how MFP works......

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/topics/show/186814-some-mfp-basics
  • eag1916
    eag1916 Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Awesome, thank you! This does help me out. I've been missing out it seems haha!
  • dancingdeer
    dancingdeer Posts: 373 Member
    Options
    While all that is great info and most of it is very helpful, you need to have a deficit to lose weight. If you consistently eat back all the calories burned, you're not going to lose.

When MFP gives you a deficit, it also changes all the macros - which is bizarre to me. If you work out - why should you automatically be allowed an extra 25 grams of sugar?

I can tell you that if I ate close to 2000 calories a day, I would never have kept my weight at or below 135 my entire life. And, I've been working out consistently for over 20 years.

So, all bodies are different - just keep that in mind! :happy:
  • sugarbone
    sugarbone Posts: 454 Member
    Options