Dairy Free Diet Anyone?

Options
Hello all!!

I've been having stomach problems lately and went to see a doctor. He put me on a dairy free diet for two weeks to see if I may have a dairy allergy. Does anyone else follow this type of diet? I'm not really sure what to look for in the ingredients, dairy is hidden under a bunch of different names!! Anybody have any experience with dairy free diets??

Thanks so much!

Replies

• sstoutccn
    Options
    Yes, I am a Naturopathic Doctor who recommends dairy free diets. Stay away from anything containing "lacto" or Casein or whey. No cheese, milk, cream, non-dairy creamers (they aren't really dairy-free), protein shakes (unless dairy and soy-free). Try almond or coconut milk instead of regular milk. Good luck!
  • MaggieMay131
    MaggieMay131 Posts: 211 Member
    Options
    I cut out dairy for a period when I was doing a paleo diet (caveman diet). It's not that bad, and there are lots of great alternatives! (coconut milk is my favorite... not dairy at all!!)

Here is a site that may help you: http://www.godairyfree.org/Food-to-Eat/Food-Label-Info/Dairy-Ingredient-List.html
  • drog2323
    drog2323 Posts: 1,386 Member
    Options
    Im just lactose intolerant. So i try my best to stay away from milk, yogurt, ice cream, cheese etc.
  • LisaRussell27
    Options
    Hi, I'm on a dairy free diet. The main thing to look for is lactose. Depending on how intolerant you are you may need to check medications as well as tablets are often coated in lactose to help them go down easier. I use lactofree milk as I really cannot stand soya milk. Lactofree milk has still got some lactose in but not much. Soya custard is delicious though. You can add me if you want and we can help each other. :smile:
  • dfborders
    dfborders Posts: 474 Member
    Options