Victim of the grad school lifestyle

So I started grad school over a year ago. Needless to say, working full time and going to school equals less time working out and eating right. Boy am I feeling it. I have less energy, less motivation, etc. I'm hoping this will help me be more disciplined with my routines and I can get some inspiration and motivation by keeping up with your stories!

Replies

• NNAhuja
    NNAhuja Posts: 669 Member
    I too am a victim of grad school's unhealthy lifestyle. I work over 40 hours a week in addition to researching and writing a thesis. A lot of the eating I do is from cooking over the weekend or microwave meals or Subways sandwiches. You are not alone :)
  • You are in good company!
  • katgirl985
    katgirl985 Posts: 212 Member
    I'm a fourth-year grad student and have gained about 10 pounds a year since starting. :-( Sooooo frustrating! I totally understand where you're coming from.

I've been at it for a while now, though, and have lost about 3/4 of what I gained. And the exercise and eating well helps me have so much more energy and actually feel MORE focused throughout the day. I look at my exercise time as my SELFISH time to take care of myself.

A quick tip as far as preparing healthful meals goes: I only have one day off a week, Sundays. So I've been cooking up a STORM on Sundays and putting the food in the fridge to take for lunches and nuke for dinners when I get home if I don't feel like cooking. Makes eating right MUCH easier! Hang in there!
  • lizard053
    lizard053 Posts: 2,344 Member