Vegetarian Getting Enough protein

Options
Hey y'all

I've opened a new account, but I've been on and off MFP for a while.
Anyway, I'm a vegetarian college student, that's an important preface.
I do a heavy weight workout three days a week and cardio/bodyweight exercises three days a week. I've read an in innumerable number of places that you should eat about 1g of Protein for every lb of lean body weight, and I'm struggling to get there. I could (and have) gotten there before, but it requires me to rely very heavily on protein shakes and I get hungry because so much of my caloric allotment is going to liquid and not solid food. My diary is open so you can look, but I, because I have limited access to foods, basically eat the same thing every day. As a side note, because lifting and body weight work aren't steady cardio, I don't trust their estimates in terms of calories burned, so I do not log them. To offset, I don't log the vegetables that I eat.

For reference:
Mid morning snack- Two large handfuls of carrots
Lunch - BIg salad with only fresh vegetables and salsa for dressing
Dinner - Ditto lunch

Any help is greatly appreciated.

EDIT: FYI: I take an Iron supplement and a multi every day to try to fill nutritional gaps.

Replies

• jls1661
    jls1661 Posts: 586 Member
    Options
    I used to be a vegetarian (for 11 years actually). When I decided to be a vegetarian I consulted my doctor to ensure what a healthy vegetarian diet should include. I suggest the same for you. I did include a lot of beans and legumes in my diet. It really comes down to researching which foods have protein in them, and other nutrients you may be lacking. I stayed away from all that processed frozen vegetarian stuff. But, seriously being a vegetarian can be unhealthy if you don't do it properly.
  • Tattoos_and_Tea
    Tattoos_and_Tea Posts: 529 Member
    Options
    Quorn is a good form of protein isnt it? Maybe add some of that to your diet? x
  • linda1243