"Obsessed" with working out?

Options
Anyone get up super early to go workout? I'm a teacher, and I'm at work by 7. It takes me 36 minutes to drive to work. 45 min to shower/get ready. So even with showering at the gym, I'd have to be up at 4:30 or 4:45 to get a good workout in. Is this nuts? Does anyone else get up this early? I want to start doing this on days I can't go in the evening, but someone recently made a comment to me that I was "obsessed" with working out. Does this make me nuts?

Replies

• ejb245
    ejb245 Posts: 195 Member
    Options
    Doesn't make you nuts at all. We all work it in when we can. I get up at 5 to hit the gym for an hour before work. Some of my friends don't get it either. I'm really hard-core or something. I'm not, I'm just committed to working out and that's the only time I can squeeze it in. If you went after work, you'd be "normal". A lot of people just don't understand how we can get up early to work out.
  • jennajava
    jennajava Posts: 2,176 Member
    Options
    Thank you! It just really hurt my feelings, because it was my mom that said that :/ Got me second-guessing myself.
  • glockster972
    glockster972 Posts: 704 Member
    Options
    Nuts, no I would say driven or dedicated toward your goal. Well done!
  • LittleFootHafner
    Options
    In my opinion, anything that is healthy for you can only be a "good" obsession! Besides, I personally feel that I will eventually lose my motivation to go to the gym so often (especially with the winter coming!), so why not stay commited while I feel like it?!?

And to answer your question, I do not have the energy to go to the gym in the mornings, as I at already up at 5:00am, leave for work at 5:30, and start work at 6:00am...

Good Luck to you! ;)
  • AdoraK
    AdoraK Posts: 724 Member
    Options
    This does not make you obsessed or nuts. It makes you committed to your new healthly life syle. I thought about getting up early to work out but I am already up at 4:45 am.