Starving yourself

Options

Replies

• DerpdyHerp
    Options
    Where can I read these studies, please?
    AND - I am not a doctor, but I did study medical anthropology and public health, and have read peer-reviewed studies.

• MummaAimz
    MummaAimz Posts: 81 Member
    Options
    It is great that you care so much about all your friends on here...but some people are going to do whatever THEY believe is best...just keep focused on you and your goals..your doing greaT!
  • ADobs
    ADobs Posts: 160 Member
    Options
    Starvation mode doesn't make you fat, but it will help pack visceral fat around your organs to protect them.
    It will consume your muscle mass as well, and your bones.
    When you begin eating normally again, or possibly still short of normally, you will have a deficit of muscle and will gain fat easily.
    Your body will also be wired to stash the fat more efficiently in preparation for the possibility of another famine.

Alternatively, you can die. Or, you can eat just enough in starvation mode to survive long enough that you can fool yourself into thinking you are not dying a slow death.

This is true and I can speak from personal experience. Eating so few calories is not realistic, healthy or maintainable, plus it can lead you down a very dark path and develop an eating disorder.

And I don't understand why some people have to be negative. She's simply stating her opinion, so if you don't agree, then why post a comment. I have seen people eating very few calories while quickly flipping through people's diaries and, yes while some people may be sick that day or not eating their excercise caloreis or whatever, there are people on here with eating disorders. At the same time, it's really none of our business what random people eat, especially if they're not a buddy.
  • MzFury
    MzFury Posts: 283 Member
    Options