Will my belly ever stop hanging?

I've lost almost 65 pounds and I'm now 182.. My stomach still hangs over though. When can I anticipate this not being the case? Anyone else familiar with this and/or found it go away at a certain weight?

Replies

• psych101
    psych101 Posts: 1,842 Member
    I haven't had any kids, but I was morbidly obese.

I had an overhanging bit of a pouch, as I've lost more and more weight it has reduced in size and when I started lifting weights and trying to get my bodyfat down it appears to have smoothed somewhat - now its just like a crease at the bottom of my stomach by my hips. I don't know if it will ever go away completely.

It took me a long time to lose my weight and I'm 29 so I don't know if that had an effect on things.

I'm 5'9, I was 286 and now I'm 168lbs
  • dimplzz
    dimplzz Posts: 456 Member

I had an overhanging bit of a pouch, as I've lost more and more weight it has reduced in size and when I started lifting weights and trying to get my bodyfat down it appears to have smoothed somewhat - now its just like a crease at the bottom of my stomach by my hips. I don't know if it will ever go away completely.

It took me a long time to lose my weight and I'm 29 so I don't know if that had an effect on things.

If your profile pic is you, you look FABULOUS!!!

I was almost 190 at my highest weight and I am 5 foot 3. After my first kid, it was almost gone and I got pregnant with my second. I got down to 156 when it was almost gone. This time around I am again at 156 but carry all of my weight in my stomach and I am afraid it would be last to go.
  • Missjulesdid
    Missjulesdid Posts: 1,444 Member
    Sometimes the skin will kind of return to the correct location after a weight loss. A lot of people wear compression garments to encourage this. If it doesn't retract back to your body within a year to a year and a half of your weight loss then you may need to get a tummy tuck.
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,420 MFP Moderator