Treadmill question

Options
I have been using the treadmill 3-4 times a week for about 4 months, along with doing Zumba. I walk at 3.5 then can run at 5.0 for about a minute and a half. My legs have no problem doing it....lol but my heart rate does not like it...lol.

I started off a month ago doing a 30 sec run and a 1.30min recovery walk. My problem is I don't seem to be able to go over 30secs of running without my heart rate getting to maximum very quickly.

Does anyone have any training suggestions. I would like to be able to run!!!

Replies

• Coltsman4ever
    Coltsman4ever Posts: 602 Member
    Options
    Slow down!
  • rubystar07
    rubystar07 Posts: 52 Member
    Options
    You didn't mention...do you have or have you been screened for heart issues? This really sounds like something you have to talk to your doctor about. A lot of people do get elevated heart rate when they run and it is perfectly healthy but you have to check with your doctor before hand.
  • LindsayChick
    LindsayChick Posts: 129 Member
    Options
    Yeah the point of running is to get your heart rate up. Are you having chest pain? Or is there a reason you've been told not to get your heart rate up?
  • midonhau
    midonhau Posts: 108 Member
    Options
    If you are having difficulty running at 5 mph then slow down. Start at a lower number and as you build up the stamina and endurance you can increase the speed.

2909849.png
    Created by MyFitnessPal.com - Free Calorie Counter
  • Fochizzy
    Fochizzy Posts: 505 Member
    Options
    Run slower for awhile. Instead of walk RUN, walk jog, build it up. I do it by HR, my treadmill has a HR button
  • akgrl1020
    Options
    Yup, slow down. Try jogging at 4, and slowly build up your endurance. Should be more of a shuffle, but it preps you to run, later on. I am a slow runner, and proud of it :-) but I can now jog for an hour, compared to those 30 seconds nine months ago. Good luck!
  • august832004
    Options