do you eat back the calories you burn?

Options
this has probably been asked a million times but i'm new to MFP. i am trying to lose 20 pounds by staying under my 1,200 calorie a day goal. when i workout (cardio and a little strenght training) should i eat back the calories i burn? thanks!

Replies

• hottottie11
    hottottie11 Posts: 907 Member
    Options
    Yes :)
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,130 Member
    Options
    Yes.
  • Kermit1976
    Options
    Yes
  • bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member
    Options
    You'll probably be hungry if you don't. I usually eat mine back because I get hungrier when I workout. Actually I get hungry even on days I don't work out so I often go over on calories on those days. I don't know how anyone lives on 1200 calories.
  • FatDadSlim
    FatDadSlim Posts: 497 Member
    Options
    NO

I Kid... Yes
  • gainess
    gainess Posts: 80 Member
    Options
    Sometimes.. Most of the time I try to eat back at least half of them.
  • Tujitsu56
    Tujitsu56 Posts: 392 Member
    Options
    Yes... and they taste awesome:)
  • Tori_356
    Tori_356 Posts: 510 Member
    Options
    Yes! EAT THEM! You will be glad you did!
  • CMmrsfloyd
    CMmrsfloyd Posts: 2,383 Member
    Options
    I eat back most of mine - sometimes all, always at least half. I've lost 25 lbs in 3.5 months so eating them has worked out great for me.

Exercise calories are the most delicious kind, b/c you worked for them. ;-)
  • bizco
    bizco Posts: 1,949 Member
    Options
    Yes.
  • reynoldsjo
    Options
    no....otherwise what it the point in working out! That is the way you lose more weight. I also think it gives you a bit of a cushion for the days when things don't go so well
  • nopeekiepeekie
    nopeekiepeekie Posts: 338 Member
    Options
    depends on how much i burn. If it's 300 or less, no, if it's more than 300 then I try to eat back half.
  • JediMaster_intraining
    Options