I need YOUR help all you fit people!

Options
So I have always done workouts where I had a set schedule-in school we had mandatory practice for cross country/track, when I was in soccer we had practice 5 days a week, and then I did INSANITY for a long time where I had a different, set workout every single day.

Well I just joined a gym and realized I have NO clue how to make a schedule for myself. I have always been given one to follow, and now that I am just going on my own I need a little guidance.

It really helps me to have a mapped out week so that I know what workout I will be doing and I am WAY more apt to get that workout done if I have planned it ahead of time instead of just thinking "Oh I need to go to the gym today...."

SO HELP!

I am new to weight training and mostly just mess around with different machines. I don't know whether to lift first then cardio or what. I don't know how many days a week to do workouts, I plan on working out 6 days a week but should I be lifting everyday? I want to lose around 10-15lbs and tone everything up...I do a mix of running, cycling, elliptical, and walking.

My gym also has classes so I want to look into that I just was wondering if anyone had some good advice as far as making a set plan for each week. THANKS GUYS! I know some of you are doing so well and I want to follow how YOU workout!

love you all!

Replies

• laurelderry
    laurelderry Posts: 384 Member
    Options
    Always lift first then cardio- it increases your calorie burn. I usually do cardio Mon-Fri because I love it- but a good schedule is Mon, Wed, Fri strength training and Tues, Thurs cardio routine. Additionally you should plan to do no less than 30 minutes of cardio- I usually shoot for an hour. There is a great iPhone app called jet fit that you can get that will show you different workouts for different parts of the body and a little cartoon video of how to do them. It will also let you log your routine, weight and reps.
  • deathstarclock