weightlifting after gallbladder removal

Options
I've heard it takes 4-6 weeks, but anyone with first hand experience could give me any insight.

Replies

• peachprl
    peachprl Posts: 119 Member
    Options
    They typically ask you to wait until a re-check after surgery that is scheduled 2-4 weeks after the surgery itself. Generally speaking, after surgery it is recommended not lift more than a gallon of milk's weight for 3-4 weeks. I know this because I had my gallbladder out earlier this year and I am an intensive care nurse :-)
  • peachprl
    Options
    Also- they may go easier on your restrictions of the procedure is done via laproscope rather than with one big incision!
  • pocomama
    pocomama Posts: 93 Member
    Options
    I had a laproscopic removal in 2003. I had a newborn baby and kind of had to lift him up once in a while, lol. My recovery took a while, I pulled open some internal stitching and he only weighed 6 pounds!

So basically I think you need to really take it easy. You dont realise how much you use your abdominal muscles until you go through something like that and every movement makes it obvious just how much you really do use them.
  • adjones5
    adjones5 Posts: 938 Member
    Options
    i had mine out last summer and I had to wait 4 weeks before working out at all. I had laproscopic. Make sure to check with your doctor, you do NOT want to inhibit your recovery!
  • BondBomb
    BondBomb Posts: 1,781 Member
    Options
    I dont care what the docs claimed - took me 6 damn weeks before I was even walking like a normal person!
  • Jessica68
    Jessica68 Posts: 2,419 Member
    Options
    Why does it seem like more people are having it removed these days...i'm beginning to wonder about my own.
  • poulosmc1
    Options
    Recommendations are 4-6 weeks for weight lifting after surgery. This is what I tell my patients when I give them preoperative instructions.
  • Moonbeamlissie
    Moonbeamlissie Posts: 504 Member
    Options