New to RUNNING! Got some question and need support!

Options
Hello! :)

I am very new to running. Right now I can only run for a couple of minutes at a time and it's quite hard. Feels great, but so hard.
I am running on a treadmill. I do fast walking with a incline and run intervals of 2-3 minutes a few times. The total time is at least 30-45 minutes.
I believe I am walking at a speed of about 3.5 MPH. And running at 5 MPH or 12 minute miles. I'm still trying to get the hang of the display on the treadmill for speed and distance. :) Does '5 MPH/12 Minute Miles' sound right? I am not running super fast but a good pace job.

I am kind of looking for some encouragement from runners out there.
Just some runners (or really anyone that knows about running) to say that in the beginning it is hard. And that 5 MPH is a good speed? Or maybe I am just incredibly out of shape. LOL

Also, how many minutes of running do I need in a workout to be able to say it was a "good run workout"?

THANKS EVERYONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

Replies

• UhTania
    Options
    I think 5.0 is the perfect speed to start out running. I think you should do whatever works best for you and adjust accordingly. I am new to running, too, and really like the couch to 5K program. The first four weeks feel realistic where you alternate your walking and running until you are gradually doing more running. It definitely is hard at first! I admit this week I am struggling trying to run outdoors and felt I couldn't do it! But, it is possible, and the fact that we went from running ZERO minutes to actual minutes of running is pretty cool! Especially non-runners or less than athletic types (like me who trips just walking down the street)! Way to go!
  • BobbyDaniel
    BobbyDaniel Posts: 1,460 Member
    Options
    Sounds like a great start. I started running last fall with C25K and it worked for me; you may want to look into that also. Feel free to send a friend request if you would like!
  • bander21