Losing Weight Too Fast?!?

Options
I started to try to lose fat about 10 days ago. I am not following any diet pills, Atkins, weight watchers, or any of those things. I am just kind of doing my own thing.

I am exercising ~6 times per week - 5x/week I do weight training, 5x/week I do cardio (treadmill running for anywhere between 1.25-3.0 miles).

I am eating very healthy foods, roughly 1400 calories per day and it has kept me full - for breakfast I have 1/2 cup yogurt and 1 cup of skim milk with 1 scoop isolate whey protein. For lunch I have either a can of tuna with mustard or 6oz greek yogurt along with a fruit and sometimes a 1oz bag of peanuts. For dinner I have been having chicken breast, cottage cheese, salad, applesauce, 95/5 ground beef tacos (with multigrain cakes instead of wraps), veggies, etc.

After workout/before bed, I have been having 1 cup of milk with 1 scoop isolate whey protein again.

The whey I think has really helped me stay full (I am new to using whey) but this plan has kept me around 1400-1600 calories per day minus whatever I burn running for my net calorie intake.

So far, after 9 days, I have lost 8 pounds. This seems kind of impossible to me. So I am wondering, am I just losing a lot of fluid weight? I have heard that happens with some very-low-carb diets but I am not doing that. Sure I am probably not getting as much carbs as I used to and I am getting a LOT of protein, but I am wondering if I am really burning fat or not.

I did have to use a hole in my belt that I haven't used in a while so I believe my waist is shrinking but can I really be losing weight this fast with a combination of eating healthy, weight training, and cardio?