Eating Exericise Calories

Options
I am a returned newbie to MFP. I know that they give you ur recommened calorie intake, but when you exercise they give you back those caloires to eat. In the last week since I have started again I have not ate those calories just had a bigger defeict for those days. I am wondering if I am eventually going to do harm to my body, thinking it is going into starvation mode or will I be okay. In the past when I have started the journey before I go two weeks get discouraged and quit.

Replies

• ZyheeMoongazer
    ZyheeMoongazer Posts: 343 Member
    Options
    From my rreading everyone does this a little differently.

I think it really depends on what your calorie goal is. Mine for example is 1200 if I eat any less than that it will give me warnings that I'm not eating enough and risk starvation mode. Depending if you are male or female that level is different. If your goal is higher than a reasonable cushion for the minimum calorie intake, not eating back your excerise calories may be fine.
  • SKHaz1
    SKHaz1 Posts: 145 Member
    Options
    I try to stick to 1,200 calories a day whether thats dipping into my exercise calories or not. The rest stays as a deficit. So, if I burn 1,000 calories, and somehow i get 2,000 calories as my goal. I only eat 1,200. Hope that makes sense.
  • LorinaLynn
    LorinaLynn Posts: 13,247 Member
    Options
    Too big of a calorie deficit isn't good for you. Not only could it stall your progress, but you'll be burning a lot of lean muscle instead of body fat. The less muscle you have, the slower your metabolism, not to mention that you won't look as toned.

I ate mine since I started, and had great progress while I was losing weight.