too much protein?

Options
Hi! Just wondering as I am new to Myfitnesspal, although I am a pescetarian (a vegetarian who eats seafood) it seems that I go over my protein allowance every single day, even on the days that I don't eat fish. Is this a hindrance to weight loss? I do 1/2 an hour on an elliptical machine, and 1/2 an hour of strength training on an assortment of gym machines per day. Otherwise, I have no trouble staying within my calorie allowance and fat/carbs allowances.

Replies

• SeaSiren1
    SeaSiren1 Posts: 242 Member
    Options
    No, going over on protein will not hurt you at all.
  • BethanyMasters
    BethanyMasters Posts: 519 Member
    Options
    The allotted protein on MFP is set pretty low.

There is such a thing as too much protein but you probably are not hitting it if you are just going a little over MFPs values.

Just keep in mind that if you have a HUGE excess of protein it can be taxing on your kidneys.
  • cquaddum
    Options
    Good information. Not to bug you, but do you know how much is too much? I did not realize until joining MFP how much protein is contained in vegeatbles!
  • warmachinejt
    warmachinejt Posts: 2,167 Member
    Options
    I have had around 270 grams daily when I was putting on weight
    even reaching 150g of protein is tough so I doubt you're taking in too much..
  • Fit_Forever25
    Fit_Forever25 Posts: 313 Member
    Options
    Good information. Not to bug you, but do you know how much is too much? I did not realize until joining MFP how much protein is contained in vegeatbles!
    cquaddum .. do you really know such vegetables which have loads of protein? I am a vegetarian and always have to fight for protein :)
  • Fit_Forever25
    Fit_Forever25 Posts: 313 Member
    Options
    I have heard that if you have more protein than what your body needs then it goes into your hair :bigsmile:
    is it really true?