Sugars :(

Options
I can't stop going over, but I do not drink soda or eat sweets... Are there good sugars? Also, What exactly turns into the fat? I know sugar does, what about sodium or carbs ? I sound dumb but I just want to understand better of what and which thinks effects your body in a good way and bad. Hopefully what I'm asking isn't completely confusing. Lol

Replies

• ILiftHeavyAcrylics
    ILiftHeavyAcrylics Posts: 27,732 Member
    Options
    What's the source of your sugars if you don't eat sweets? If it's fruit I wouldn't worry too much, just focus on the calorie goal unless you have reason to believe the sugar might be hurting your goals. Sorry I'm not a nutrition expert so I can't answer your other questions, but I think there's quite a bit of debate about whether there's a difference between natural and refined sugars or not. It might be hard to find a straight answer but you can try the search function.
  • issyfit
    issyfit Posts: 1,077 Member
    Options
    From studying the South Beach Diet--sugars that occur naturally in food--like lactose and fructose (not high fructose corn syrup) are better than "added sugar"--read the ingredient list. Whole grain carbs are better than refined and processed carbs, Sweet potatoes are better than white potatoes. The reason has to do with slowing digestion and insulin production and keeping your blood sugars even through out the day.
  • lulabox
    lulabox Posts: 96 Member
    Options
    Simplified biochemistry lesson - you might know a lot of it:

Carbohydrates vs. Sugars
    - A sugar is a simple molecule shaped usually like a hexagon (sometimes a pentagon). Glucose and fructose are made of one hexagon, while lactose is made of two hexagons attached to each other. A carbohydrate is a long chain of hexagons attached to each other.

Basic Metabolism
    - Your body runs on glucose, a simple sugar. When you breath air, glucose is converted in energy and CO2.