Insanity- why am I not losing weight? instead, put on weight

Hi everyone! I've been doing Insanity for 2 weeks and a half now, never missed one day, hoping to lose weight. I've been doing a lot of exercise for the last 7 years ( aerobics, tae-bo, aqua gym, fitness, etc, so I am not at all a stranger to working out) and I always lost weight while going to the gym. Usually, I lose weight very easily. As I wanted to try out something new and pretty challenging, I started Insanity. I was very motivated and excited the first week, I read online that we should not care for the kg, but the centimeters we lose.
After the first 2 weeks, I lost most of my motivation as I noticed that my legs are swollen, it's like I have been a sedentary person for years.
Plus, I feel fat and heavy. I cannot describe the feeling. All I know is that I got the reverse results I was hoping for. As I said before, I have been working out for many years and it's the first time this has happened to me. Of course that after noticing the swelling of my whole body, especially the legs, I ran to the scale and there was a weight gain of 3 kg. Is it normal????!?1? Can anyone explain to me why this is happening? I have to say that my eating habits have not changed. I eat the same as I have for many years since I started working out. I do not have a diet, as I do not believe in diets, I am totally into exercising and being active.
Thank you!

Replies

• insanity is a real intense workout program and ur muscle will be retaining water for repairs... just insure ur drinking plenty, eating high protein every meal and in a week or 2 the weight will melt off (not so much a scales loss but an inches loss)
  • I agree, drink tons of water. That "swollen" and heavy/bloated feeling is likely lots of water retention (as is the gain!). Drink tons of water and that should help you to feel better!