Why can't I lose weight?

Options
2»

Replies

• ironanimal
    ironanimal Posts: 5,922 Member
    Options
    'I am doing everything right.'

No, you are not. Eating below 1000 calories a day and exercising regularly is far from doing it right. Eat more.
  • Helloitsdan
    Helloitsdan Posts: 5,564 Member
    Options
    Good Morning, Let me first come clean and say that I am not a dietician or a physician. I can, however, state that I am 45 years old and have maintained my current weight after the birth of my second child almost 6 years ago. I guess you could say I am a self taught label and fitness fanatic.

Okay, first of all you are putting your body in starvation mode. You need at least 1,200 calories. Your weight is not budging because you are consuming too few calories. Second, you need to up your cardio work out. While ballet is a good form of toning, it does little to raise your heart rate and facilitate a good calorie burn--unless you are an elite ballerina. I would suggest walking with very light weights or doing a cardio tape. I have added to my running routine lately and bought one of "The Firm" tapes. It is a heck of an aerobic dance work out. Third, you should also start slowly with a weight lifting routine with light weights and lots of repetitions because muscle burns fat as well. You should do your cardio work out daily and a weight routine 2-3 days a week.

Finally, I don't know what you are eating, but make sure you are incorporating enough lean protein into each of your meals. Protein takes the edge off of hunger and it also will help build muscle.

I hope this helps!
    GMac

Research starvation mode. Takes days of eating almost nothing to get there.
    She is damaging her body though.
    Eating below BMR robs nutrients from vital organs.
    Its like running a marathon with a belt tightened around your chest allowing half breaths.

Congrats on maintaining though.
    Finding that comfy spot is hard work!
    =D
  • wantskinnythighs