Clean Eating...?!

Options
I'm fairly new to this but what exactly is "clean eating"...what are some staples of this diet...or lifestyle, rather. I'd like to know what foods I should start really integrating into my diet and what foods I should leave out. I regularly hit my calorie goal and exercise 3-4x a week so I think I'm fairly on track. Would just like to know more about clean eating.

Thanks! :)

Replies

• koosdel
    koosdel Posts: 3,317 Member
    Options
    It is my opinion that there is no such thing as 'clean eating' (unless you're into dumpster diving) as I have yet to find a food that I can't fit into my macronutritional goals.
  • melsinct
    melsinct Posts: 3,512 Member
    Options
    Different people have different definitions. I try to ingest only foods where, if they have an ingredient list, it is items I recognize as actual food and not things like Polysorbate 60 or Yellow Dye No. 5. I try and eat mostly whole foods cooked from scratch but if I do eat prepackaged stuff (like flour tortillas, for instance, I won't bother making on my own) I make sure I buy the best quality I can with ingredients that belong in tortillas. I find Trader Joe's and Whole Foods to be indispensable for times I need to buy packaged foods.
  • taso42
    taso42 Posts: 8,980 Member
    Options
    It means eating non-processed or minimally processed food. The idea of clean eating is to eat food that is as close to its natural state as possible. So, for example, Chicken McNuggets: markedly unclean. Boneless skinless chicken breasts: quite a bit cleaner, but go through plenty of procesing. Whole chicken: best option for most people. Chicken that you kill yourself, clean, cook and eat: ideal.

This is more of a standard of living / personal preference moreso than a requirement for success. As long as you're hitting your nutritional goals, you will succeed; regardless of clean or "dirty" eating.
  • dls06
    dls06 Posts: 6,774 Member
    Options