Best workout routine/program for beginners?

Hey there!

I just recently started the weight loss journey and while I walk dogs regularly (for my work), I've never done anything regarding going to the gym, running, or anything like that so I'm a total beginner. I was wondering what the best program/routine is for people just starting out; I'm not really looking to 'bulk up', it's mostly to help with losing weight/feeling good.

I'm, unfortunately, on a fairly tight budget as I'm a contractor and my fiance is the only one working full time so I can't afford to buy a ton of equipment so I was hoping to find a routine that uses mostly body only-related exercises (plus I feel more motivated by doing that sort of stuff since I can do it in the confines of my home). I've been looking into the gyms around my area as well to hopefully find somewhere affordable to start working out/using the treadmills; I have fairly severe social anxiety so going out and working out in front of people is kind of a big deal for me which is why, if nothing else, I'd like to find a good exercise routine/program/dvd that I can use at home.

Thank you for the insight/suggestions!

Replies

• kyleekay10
    kyleekay10 Posts: 1,812 Member
    My favorite is the Biggest Loser game on the Xbox/Kinect. If you already have the Xbox, it may be worth looking into. cox cable also has free workouts on their on demand channel. Good luck!
  • My favorite is the Biggest Loser game on the Xbox/Kinect. If you already have the Xbox, it may be worth looking into. cox cable also has free workouts on their on demand channel. Good luck!

I never knew the xbox had work out games! Sadly, I don't have kinect yet. :<

Time to look into getting cable, haha.
  • jfcameron23
    jfcameron23 Posts: 44 Member
    When I started I bought 4 DVD's for variety and hand weights. Cost about $40. Pilate's,biggest loser power walk, JM 30 day shred and biggest loser cardio max.
  • arewethereyet
    arewethereyet Posts: 18,702 Member