Advantages of swimming?

Options
2»

Replies

• Apazman
    Apazman Posts: 494 Member
    Options
    does anyone know where I could buy a pair of waterproof earplugs for my underwater mp3 player. the mp3 player i got is still fine, just my earplugs are no good anymore... Looking for a store in Canada.

http://www.amazon.com/Macks-AquaBlock-Earplugs-2-pr/dp/B000277SL0/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1327978535&sr=8-1

419Q1BR29DL._SL500_AA300_.jpg
  • megmo_7
    megmo_7 Posts: 98 Member
    Options
    Thanks so much for all of your input! ok, so i'm hearing lots about "the right stroke". What exactly is the type of stroke that I want to be doing? I'm a beginner but took lessons as a kid :)

I would just start with basic strokes and work your way up. I swim freestyle down the lane and backstroke back up it. I alternate to try and work more groups of muscles. I also make sure to pull my abdominal muscles in while swimming and take deep breathes. Get used to swimming again before you get really involved with different strokes.
  • megmo_7
    megmo_7 Posts: 98 Member
    Options
    There is a slight issue I found .. swimming in cold water typically starts a massive hunger sensation for me. After swimming a mile I feel like i can eat a horse ... I found one way to stop the cravings is after a swim, sauna or steam room for 15 and then hot tub for 15.

I find it so weird that people say they are insanely hungry after swimming. On days I swim it takes me hours before I can eat again. Just the thought of food makes me ill. Now if I am doing regualr workouts and cardio thats when I get insanely hungry. And the pool I swim at is people standards for temp so it is insanely cold.
  • Elizabeth_C34
    Elizabeth_C34 Posts: 6,376 Member
    Options
    Swimming is an outstanding workout. It works all the major muscle groups and provides low-impact resistence. Water aerobics is great too! It's not just for old ladies.
  • Mybabie
    Mybabie Posts: 239
    Options