Heavy Lifting- Ladies...............

Options
Im sure this is covered in a BAZILLION other posts, but Im not finding what Im looking for.....

I started lifting heavier and I noticed my measurements getting LARGER within the first week. Now I know it takes longer than this to build muscle so Im assuming it is water as my muscles are trying to repair themselves. Week 2- still bigger...... but only in the upper leg & shoulders.......... I DO NOT NEED ANY MORE BOOTY :grumble:

So my questions are as follows:

When you started lifting heavy did it take a while for the inches to come off?

Did you get "bigger" first and for how long did that last?

Do you only lift heavy with certain muscle groups or all? I notice that I easily gain muscle in my arms and they were getting bigger than I cared for........

What do you consider "heavy"?

Replies

• porffor
    porffor Posts: 1,212 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert on this, but have also gone up on inches on my legs and arms.. I believe muscles gather water as part of their 'healing' process.

Traditionally I have read that a day of rest is needed to allow the muscle to heal itself, but I'm doing the 30 Day shred at the moment which promotes 30 days constant or near constant repeats.

I'm sure others will be along soon with fuller answers for you... and I'll be watching for their answers. lol
  • determinedbutlazy
    determinedbutlazy Posts: 1,941 Member
    Options
    My thighs and biceps got quite swollen when I first started going to the gym 3 weeks ago, I think they're starting to go down now... It's important to drink a lot of water pre post and during workout and try and get some potassium after. I hate the **** out of bananas but I eat one after all my weights are done and it seems to help me recover quicker.

Now if only the "swelling" on my glutes would buzz off... I've had that for 25 years! :P
  • addisondisease
    addisondisease Posts: 664 Member
    Options